Thanksgiving 2011

Thanksgiving 2011 is winding to a close. Thanksgiving has always been my favorite holiday, after Halloween. I have beautiful memories of celebrations with my mother and other family members, all of whom are gone now. I still enjoy many of the things I used to do as a kid, particularly watching the Macy’s Thanksgiving Day Parade and two of my favorite seasonal movies: “Miracle on 34th St.” and “A Charlie Brown Thanksgiving”.

The Parade started with a giant turkey float. On top was actress Debi Mazar and her husband Gabriele Corcos dressed as Pilgrims:

And we also saw Olympic figure skating champion Johnny Weir dressed in a white fur-trimmed robe and white silk top hat, welcoming Winter with turquoise fairy dust! FABULOUS!

I loved the Parade, and later on I watched the classic 1947 film “Miracle on 34th St.”, starring Natalie Wood, Maureen O’Hara, and Edmund Gwenn as Santa Claus. I look forward to that one every year. When I was in college, I had a temporary Christmas job at Macy’s, and I will never forget that employee cafeteria! They have renovated it since I worked there, but when I was there, it was exactly the way it appeared in the movie.

Another timeless classic is the animated “A Charlie Brown Thanksgiving”. The sentiment is one that I have always loved: Be thankful for your dinner, even if it is as simple as the toast, popcorn, and pretzels that Snoopy and Woodstock whipped up on a moment’s notice.

So, that was my Thanksgiving Day 2011. Very quiet, and very peaceful. So much to be thankful for, and so many memories of wonderful Thanksgiving Days gone by.

About At Random

I am (Ms.) Jay White Feather, a lifelong New York City resident, born and raised on the mean streets of Manhattan back in the day. I am of Native American heritage -- a native New Yorker who grew up back when it meant something to be a New Yorker. And to me, it still does mean something.
This entry was posted in Movies, New York City and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

