Adios, MoFo: Rick Perry Rides Off

Yesterday, Texas Governor Rick Perry announced his withdrawal from the Republican presidential race due to his poor showings in Iowa and New Hampshire earlier this month. I have nothing at all in common with Perry’s politics — we live on two very different planets — but I will miss his sense of humor. Sometimes Perry was unintentionally laughable, as in his many gaffes on the campaign trail and in his notoriously inept debate performances. But at other times he was intentionally humorous, and I can say that I sincerely enjoyed it. In the last debate Perry participated in, he told the moderator that he should have gotten out “the gong” for Ron Paul after one of Paul’s foreign policy answers. I literally laughed out loud at that, although I have much more  respect for Paul’s positions than I do for Perry’s.

Apart from all of that, though, I will take away a sense of laughter from some of Perry’s truly bizarre moments. Here is some video to remember Rick Perry by. The first one is the now-notorious montage of his hilarious Cornerstone Speech in New Hampshire in October 2011. This was a tour-de-force of silliness, worth watching many times. Be sure to watch the video all the way through to the “maple syrup” moment at the very end. So funny! And the second video is a tribute to Rick Perry’s debates, courtesy of Talking Points Memo. Gov. Perry, I salute you! And as you yourself would say: “Adios, MoFo!”

About At Random

I am (Ms.) Jay White Feather, a lifelong New York City resident, born and raised on the mean streets of Manhattan back in the day. I am of Native American heritage -- a native New Yorker who grew up back when it meant something to be a New Yorker. And to me, it still does mean something.
This entry was posted in Politics and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

