Weathered Celebrity Faces

I have always enjoyed photography, and I find these photos fascinating. These pictures of Lauren Bacall (now 87 years old) and Clint Eastwood are from an upcoming book of portraits by British photographer Andy Gotts. This photo of  Bacall is of particular interest to me as a lifelong “Bogie and Bacall” fan. Bacall was one of the few celebrities — especially the female ones — to have the guts to let her hair go gray, and now she has refused to have the requisite Hollywood plastic surgery done on that magnificent face.

Much respect to these stars for allowing nature to take its course in a graceful way. These are faces of character and wisdom, and this is what our elders should look like.

There are more “Weathered Celebrities” photos at this link: Photo District News

About At Random

I am (Ms.) Jay White Feather, a lifelong New York City resident, born and raised on the mean streets of Manhattan back in the day. I am of Native American heritage -- a native New Yorker who grew up back when it meant something to be a New Yorker. And to me, it still does mean something.
This entry was posted in Arts and Entertainment, Movies and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Weathered Celebrity Faces

  1. kleeyaro says:

    I also would applaud celebrities who embrace their age. Some of them have gotten such horrible plastic surgery you don’t even recognize them anymore.

  2. claratsi says:

    both bacall and eastwood represent the deeper meaning of what it is to be an ‘icon’. both without superficiality their talent and love of their craft has defined them more than their looks ever did, even though they are and were always beautiful. Clint eastwood is without doubt one of my favourite actors and icons of movies. great post.

  3. Liz says:

    She is still the most beautiful Lady I have ever seen on screen. Anyone out there…. Please make my day and give me a adress of where I may send Ms. Bacall a letter of gratitude for the book she wrote. Thank you kindly.

    • At Random says:

      Thanks for your comment. I agree — She is a classic beauty. I don’t know where you can write to her, but usually you can get that information from the publisher of her book. Also, if you are on Facebook, you can try to contact the administrator of the Humphrey Bogart Estate page. They are in direct contact with Bogie and Bacall’s son Stephen who often posts messages on that page. Perhaps they can give you an address for her.

  4. Expat says:

    As an American living in Brazil, my ideas of aging and beauty have changed. While it seems as though surgical options in the States are now expected so one may retain beauty, the attitude is still really very much against it. I find the comments here taking the position most of my stateside friends do, which is that there’s still a lot wrong with that. On the other hand, in Brazil the prevailing attitude is much more flexible. If you want to take the surgical route, it’s supported. If not, that’s perfectly alright as well. I think this is the healthier viewpoint. There are various kinds of physical beauty, aging without surgery is one. However, I can no longer agree that all cosmetic surgery looks fake, or is bad or wrong. Some people, men and women, look extraordinary with sensible procedures. I agree Ms. Bacall has been, is, and always will be beautiful, but she has chosen what fits for her. Perhaps that’s what we really find so attractive after all.

    • At Random says:

      Thanks for taking the time to comment. I agree that it’s up to the individual to decide what works for them, although I think that plastic surgery has gotten out of hand here in the States. But everyone does have a choice about it, assuming they can afford plastic surgery. I just happen to think that the unsurgerized look is more appealing because it is what nature intended for us as we age.

  5. Pingback: Lauren Bacall Has Died At Age 89 | AT RANDOM

  6. Pingback: Just Because... Lauren Bacall Photos - Burlexe

Leave a Reply

